GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER

4l60e swap?

Discussion in 'GM Powertrain' started by JOHNNYBLACKEYE, Oct 19, 2009.

  1. JOHNNYBLACKEYE

    JOHNNYBLACKEYE New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am done messing with this trans .my question is there any other trans that will swap out with the 4l60e in the tahoe?
    #1
  2. 7daughters

    7daughters New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    What year is the truck?
    #2
  3. Jimmiee

    Jimmiee New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,285
    Likes Received:
    12
    The 4L60E transmission is just a part of your Powertrain. It is matched to the engine and drive train. Changing it to something else will cause problems and trouble codes. You could change it to a manual trans and change everything including the computer but that would be very expensive and foolish IMO.
    #3
  4. Crawdaddy

    Crawdaddy Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,221
    Likes Received:
    10
    What issues are you having with your 4L60E that is causing you to want to change it? It is a very strong and reliable transmission provided it is not ABUSED. If you keep blowing the transmission up due to abusing it, no transmission you install will provide better results.
    #4
  5. TYMBOM

    TYMBOM Former Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    1

    I beg to differ. (Picking a fight with a mod, look at me, lol). The 4L60 is terrible. There is a great, but expensive answer. I went through 5, yes 5!! 4L60's. All exept the stock ones were built as well. I'm the first to admit I beat the hell out of them. Swapping out to a 4L80 is the ticket. In turn you will need to install shorter drive shafts because the 80 is bigger physically than the 60 but well worth it. I ordered a Finish Line Transmission 4L80 Exteme Level 5 and have never had a problem since. Expensive but worth it (to me).
    #5
  6. TYMBOM

    TYMBOM Former Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    1

    Incorrect. When done properly there are no issues or codes.
    #6
  7. Jimmiee

    Jimmiee New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,285
    Likes Received:
    12
    We're all listening. Please enlighten us. Which trans will swap out without any issues? Curious minds want to know.
    #7
  8. TYMBOM

    TYMBOM Former Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you read three posts up you would see.
    #8
  9. 2ToNe04

    2ToNe04 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    1


    you can build your 4l60e with servos and billets and other stuff to be just as good, i know a couple of guys that are supercharged and putting alot of power down with there built 60es

    4l80e is just as much trouble as putting a different kind of tranny like Jimmie pointed out... Its expensive.

    there is more to putting a 80e than what you mentioned.


    Jimmie > you.
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2009
    #9
  10. TYMBOM

    TYMBOM Former Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    1
    Lol. The guy was asking a question about "different transmissions". I'm the only one that answered his question, and in doing so, I also pointed out that it was expensive. Also, "expensive" is relative. Of course there is more to than what I mentioned, I'd didn't offer a step by step. I offered a suggestion.

    As far as "knowing a couple of guys", we all know of people, I'm talking first hand.

    Way to jump in and try to "save" Jimmy, lol. :great:
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2009
    #10
  11. 2ToNe04

    2ToNe04 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Jimmie = tranny tech

    no need to save him.
    #11
  12. Crawdaddy

    Crawdaddy Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,221
    Likes Received:
    10
    Let's try to keep the flame wars down. Sufficed to say, Jimmie is an experienced transmission technician and knows a bit or two about them. Secondly, without a replacement computer that knows about the correct model motor and transmission combination, you will get check engine codes, improper shifting, and improper engine operation. Third, I have a 700R4 (the 4L60E prior to being electronically controlled) in a 91 Suburban (6800 pounds GVWR, ie HEAVY) and have pulled loads in the hills of Texas of approximately 8000 pounds with impressive acceleration and no issues. In conclusion, I recant my previous post, if the transmission is not ABUSED, it will survive just fine, and if you want more performance, modifications totalling under $500 can be made to make it nearly bulletproof.
    #12
  13. TYMBOM

    TYMBOM Former Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    1
    I agree with most of your post. Two notes, I don't have a new computer nor do you need one for the 80 swap, just the proper wiring and you are set. Also, the $500 mods to be nearly bulletproof is a stretch. As I stated, I have five under my belt with a lot more than $500 into them. But again, "performance" is subjective.

    I don't think there are any flame wars........yet, lol.
    #13
  14. Jimmiee

    Jimmiee New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,285
    Likes Received:
    12
    OK, sorry for the late reply. Let's get serious now TYMBOB. The 4L60E uses 3 shift solenoids to get 4 speeds and uses an EPC for pressure regulation. The 4L80E uses 2 shift solenoids and a Force Motor for pressure regulation. There is no way a 4L60E computer could shift a 4L80E. Also a 4L80E uses input and output sensors which the 4L60E does not use. We're talking Apples and Oranges here. :lol:
    #14
  15. Jimmiee

    Jimmiee New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,285
    Likes Received:
    12
    [​IMG][​IMG]As you can see from the illustrations above the solenoid firing orders are totally different between the 4L60 and 4L80.
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2009
    #15
  16. TYMBOM

    TYMBOM Former Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    1
    First, it's TYMBOM. Also, I'm done with this and I'm sure you are too. I know what's in my truck and works perfect without codes. Here's the bottom line that I hope nobody can argue with. He asked about a different transmission. The answer is yes, but costs money. Everyone happy?
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2009
    #16
  17. Jimmiee

    Jimmiee New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,285
    Likes Received:
    12
    TYMBOB, it's nice to see you changed your attitude as well as the subject. :)
    #17
  18. TYMBOM

    TYMBOM Former Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    1
    Nothing has changed at all. I am still the only one that answered his question and the topic is still 4L60's being swapped to something better. It's great that you are a "tech" and have charts, but you are the one saying it can't be done, and wouldn't you know it, it's done all the time. I'm saying I'm sick of hitting my head off the wall and talking about it. If you want to continue this crap Himmiee, PM me. No need for an audience.
    #18
  19. Jimmiee

    Jimmiee New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,285
    Likes Received:
    12
    I never said it couldn't be done. It can be done with a stand alone computer but there will be issues. I have changed L60's to L80's with stand alone computers before. What happens is the OE computer goes into failsafe and the CEL comes on. This is a big issue in states that require smog inspections to keep the truck registered each year. You say it can be done with the stock computer but you fail to explain how this is possible. Instead of hitting your head against the wall why not tell us how it's done? I'm not the only one here that wants to know and I will be the first to admit I am mistaken if you have a way to do this conversion with the stock PCM. My take on this is if it can be done at all it would at least take a computer out of a 2500 truck that came with a 4L80E.
    #19
  20. TYMBOM

    TYMBOM Former Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    1
    All that needs to be done is the wiring change and a new tune and obviously the driveshafts. It does need a custom tune file but not a new computer. I agree that with the stock computer "AND STOCK PROGRAMMING", you'd have issues. I think this is where our communication broke down, you do not need a new computer, you can do it with the stock ECU you just need a new program on your exisiting one. That is much cheaper than a new computer obviously. Anyone with EFILive for example can do this change. Hopefully this clears this up and we can be friends now :)
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2009
    #20

Share This Page