1. Chevy Truck Forum

Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online

Online since 2004, we're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free

Registering is Free and Easy! Do it today and we'll see you on the forums soon!

4x6 Dead Tandem Project

Discussion in 'Chevy Truck Talk & GM News' started by James4012, Feb 24, 2013.

1. James4012

James4012 Member

I've been running it through my head for awhile and I'm seriously debating turning my current truck into something that ain't seen very much. I'm a structural welder at where I work at. And I've been wanting to rig out for some time. But don't feel like paying over 15 grand for a used 1 ton flat bed truck to turn into a rig welder. I currently have a 4 inch lifted 94 K1500 chevy truck with a 5 speed, ext cab short bed. The bed is already shot and in need of complete replacing. Well I was thinking. What if I remove the bed, add about 3 foot to the frame *make it about equivalent with a LWB bed* and weld a second axle behind the first. Throw a 14 foot flat bed on it and put a new venture, or M3 granny 5 speed into it. It'd be a dead tandem 4x6. I already have all the tires. Got 3 left over from my last set that I use as spares *damn things to expensive just to get rid of* Maybe use 3/4 ton rear ends? I'm definatly going for 3/4 ton or 1 ton leaf springs and shocks. I figured if I placed the goose hitch on the bed equal between the two axles it would evenly distribute the load. Granted I could redneck all of this for about 5 grand or less instead of blowing 15 on another truck. Plus it'd be a head turning, and would look like one hell of a welding rig. Me and my gramps did this on a 1 ton before, but we moved the rear axle all the way to the end of the frame so it only touched