5.3 Performace Mods????

Discussion in 'Performance & Fuel' started by Z71_usmc_rebel, Jun 23, 2008.

1. Z71_usmc_rebel

Z71_usmc_rebel Rockstar ROTM Winner 100 Posts

Right now im livin the dream playin in the sandbox (iraq) lol and Im lookin to add some performance mods to the truck when i get home. But im new to the 5.3. So im looking to see what kind of mods yall have done that would give me good gains in HP and TQ?

I already have a K&N Intake. ( I plan on adding duals, would the true duals gain more power?)

Here are some mods I have been looking into, but arnt sure if they will give me good gains?

Hypertech Programer
    All new Exhaust System (headers back)
    High Performance Plugs/wires

So please feel free to leave me some advice on the items listed above and also give me any new advice on other items or specific items that can help me with good gains!:fighting0072:

2. MWright936

MWright936 Epic Member 5+ Years 1000 Posts

Sounds like you've got some great ideas already! Another idea is an aftermarket MAF sensor. I've heard of people getting some noticeable gains from those, and some added MPG.

So far, I've also got a K&N on my 5.3 and plan some similar mods that you listed. I'm also planning on switching over to synthetic oil soon. I don't really expect anything as far as hp or torque gains, but I've heard it makes the engine run alot better. Some of the other guys will surely have more ideas as well!

Thank you so much for your service and God bless!!!!

3. retired2001

retired2001 Epic Member 5+ Years 5000 Posts

Sounds like you have the same list that most of us have considered. To go much further I'd mention the remote mounted turbo charger (mounts in the exhaust system, under the truck). Thanks for your service and get home ASAP!

4. Z71_usmc_rebel

where can i find this remote mounted turbo charger?

5. retired2001

retired2001 Epic Member 5+ Years 5000 Posts