6.5L Valve Ticking After New Injection Pump?

Discussion in 'GM Diesel & DuraMax' started by Fox_Suburban, May 22, 2011.

1. Fox_Suburban

Fox_Suburban New Member

Hey guys, I think this is my first thread... I'm NOT a mechanic at all, but I do love cars am really try maintaining them myself with help from friends.

It's a 95 Suburban with the L65, electronic IP. I just did a massive overhaul on it replacing a lot, including: Manufactured Injection Pump, New Water Pump, New Glow Plugs, Alternator, Belt, Hoses, Oil, Coolant, Batteries, etc...

Because of many different problems (both in the truck, people, and finances) it took me about 6 months, and in that time the truck hadn't been started at all. Once put back together with the new batteries (and purging air from the fuel lines) the truck started up pretty easily. Runs stronger than ever, it's great.

However, there's a pretty loud ticking now. It's REALLY hard for me to tell where it's coming from since everything is so loud, but I'm pretty sure it's coming from the engine, not engine accessories... It reminds me of a valve, JUST one, and I think the sound is coming from the valve cover by the turbo. Before the overhaul there was absolutely no ticking like this, it is brand new since the new IP. And it is definitely only one valve (if that's what it is at all).

Do you think the timing is off now because of that one gear not being put on right at the time of the new IP install? Would it be just one valve? If it is the valve, the most important question I have, is will it get worse, and/or do damage? Times have been tough, and this is now my only form of transportation, and I live in a new area like 90 miles away from everyone I know, so I want to nip this in the bud now!