Newest Gallery Photos

1. Chevy Truck Forum

Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online

Online since 2004, we're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free

Registering is Free and Easy! Do it today and we'll see you on the forums soon!

94 Chevy project

Discussion in 'Chevy Suburban Forum (GMC Yukon XL)' started by 2hot2handle, May 5, 2012.

1. 2hot2handle

2hot2handle New Member

Hello all!

It's great to be apart of this community now and I look forward to learning a lot. I'm a complete newb and I'm planning on using this project as a way of familiarizing myself with trucks.

So here it is, I'm just going to jump right from the frying pan and into the fire.

I have a 94 K1500 chevrolet suburban that I am looking to restore to its former glory.

This ol'girl has roughly 250k on her current engine and is completely original. The engine is starting to sound tired and sucks wind in when driving in the mountains.

The ABS acts up whenever hard breaking is done. The brake pedal will kick in early vibrating violently before slamming to the floor and the truck just keeps on going. I've been doing some research and am considering simply removing the fuse for the ABS and driving without it.

All of the seatbelts are shot and need to be replaced, along with the 2nd row bench seat. I want a bench or captains chairs back there with proper head rests.

I'm sure this is overly ambitious but I would like to rebuild the engine myself along with any pertinent upgrades. I need to know what is possible to achieve at home and what needs to be taken care of by a professional mechanic.