1. Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online
    Online since 2004, we are the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV forum and user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free
    Registering is Free and Easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

94 K1500. Want stronger springs for heavier loads. options?

Discussion in 'Chevy C/K Truck Forum' started by Bdiggy, Aug 21, 2011.

1. Bdiggy

Bdiggy New Member

Hello all.

I have a 94 K1500 with the Z71 package. I have had it awhile now and love it. Its the first full size I have owned. I am new to chevy trucks so please excuse me if I ask anything that would be obvious.

I have been using it to haul materials for different home improvement projects at my house and it usually does very well for me. However, the load capacity of the truck is not what I expected it would be for a truck of this size. 1 yard of fill almost killed the suspension on it. It was slammed to the ground almost. And The truck can barely hold 20 bags of concrete without taking a huge dip in the rear.

I want to beef up the suspension in the rear so that it can handle heavier loads including towing. What are some of my options?

I was contemplating weather 2500 springs from the same era would work with my 1500 frame. I have not gotten the chance to track down a 2500 so I can compare. A friend who is a chevy truck guy told me that the 1500 and 2500 leaf springs are interchangeable but the 3500 is not.

Thanks for any info guys!
  2. 2COR517

2COR517 Epic Member 5+ Years 1000 Posts

Your best option would be a set of airbags. Cheaper than new springs and much much easier to install. Especially on a Mass truck almost 20 years old.
  3. Bdiggy

Bdiggy New Member