1. Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online
    Online since 2004, we are the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV forum and user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free
    Registering is Free and Easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

97 GMC Suburban with power problem @ high altitude

Discussion in 'Chevy Suburban Forum (GMC Yukon XL)' started by alosier, Dec 2, 2011.

1. alosier

alosier New Member

I am new to the GMTruckclub forum, and forums in general. I hope to gain insight from other GM/Chevy owners, and hopefully offer some as well!

In July, I bought a 1997 GMC Suburban SLE with 152K miles. Love this truck. It was well cared for by the previous owner, but in need of some routine maintenance. I've spent nearly $2000 on updates and repairs--everything from tires to a water pump.

Recently, I took it up to Vail--about a two hour drive from Denver. It performed perfectly going up but on my trip home, I could not get it to go above 45-50mph going up Vail pass, nor up to the Eisenhower tunnel. At times, it felt like a tranny issue. I'd accelerate and the RPMS went up to 3-4000 but the vehicle did not respond. Other times, it felt like it was starved for fuel. I floored it and there was nothing--no revving, no response from the vehicle. The 'service engine light' came on but as soon as I got past the tunnel and to lower elevations, it was fine. I should note, it "ran" fine the whole time too... there was no puttering, stalling, etc. Since then, the service light has gone off by itself and driving around town in Denver, I cannot get it to repeat the issue.