1. Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online
    Online since 2004, we are the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV forum and user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free
    Registering is Free and Easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

97 suburman flooding and won't start, flooding issue

Discussion in 'Chevy C/K Truck Forum' started by suburman, Jan 14, 2014.

1. suburman

suburman New Member

I have a challenge for all master mechanics out there. My 5.7 Vortec starts sometimes and sometimes not. Now it won't at all. Here's what I know. Fuel pressure is 65psi KOEO and drops to 58 when cranking. Pressure drops to 20psi in 120 seconds after turning off. I removed upper manifold, and fuel spider and reconnected the fuel lines and harness and turned key on. Exact results as above (including pressure drop to 20 psi)without a drop of fuel leaking from any injector, poppet, or regulator. Fuel pres regulator is 6 months old and pump is about 1-1/2 years old. Strong smell of fuel when trying to crank. I capped off the fuel supply line at the meter and turned on key. Pressure goes to 85 psi and then drops to 20 psi in about 30 seconds. Removed #2 and #8 plug and have strong spark at both. Starting fluid does nothing. After attempting to start, plugs #2 and 8 were soaked. Clearly, I have a flooding problem, but can't figure out why. It has same symptoms as when the regulator went bad 6 months ago but everything under the manifold looked good except slight fuel wetness in rear half. Only DTC codes are a cyl 4 misfire and a couple of O2 sensor codes that have been there forever. Only other clue is that when I turn the key back from start to "on" after trying to crank, the engine diesels for a second like it's trying to fire but can't quite get there. I can't figure ou