98 Chevy k3500 5.7 fuel issue?

Discussion in 'General Chevy & GM Tech Questions' started by jarends, Aug 25, 2013.

1. jarends

jarends New Member

Hi Everyone,

My dad has a 98 k3500 with the 5.7L engine. He bought a newer dually and this one has been sitting around because it needs a few repairs. I am no mechanic by any means, but like to try to fix stuff myself if I can. Anyway, he was having issues with it starting and running rough when pulling. It seems to start fine when its cold, but after it has been driven and you go to start it, then it doesn't always start. A friend told him it is probably some fuel sensor and if it doesn't start, pour some gas in the top of the engine (not sure where, cause I don't think this has a carb, its fuel injected right?). So, when he was still using this truck, he would carry a small gas can with him, and if it didn't start he would pour a small amount of gas somewhere under the hood (I never asked or watched to see how he did this) and then it would start right up. Can someone tell me what this issue could be? I would like to get this truck running so I can use it :happy:

Thanks for any help!

2. MAD JAX

MAD JAX Member

DO NOT MAKE A HABIT OF POURING FUEL INTO THE THROTTLE-BODY TO START THE TRUCK ~ IT'S VERY DANGEROUS!!!

Yep, I'm shouting...You sound very inexperienced for both your discription of "fix-stuff myself if I can" AND inability to properly identify certain components, not the least-of-which is the Ignition Coil and Distributor located immediatly behind the Throttle Body ~ where GAS FUMES can immediatly migrate to then cause an explosion of FIRE that can burn Your face off of Your skull faster than you can imagine!

Sh*t happens ~ and that's one-way it MAY : ?