GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER

99 high and low beams on at the same time

Discussion in 'Chevy Silverado Forum (GMC Sierra)' started by 53jimc, Jun 5, 2012.

  1. 53jimc

    53jimc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Everyone,

    I have been searching for the past couple of hours, and doing google searches but am coming up with nothing for a '99 silverado. Does anyone have information on how to wire the headlights so the low beams stay on when you switch to high beams? I have hid kits installed on both, but, they take a few seconds to fire up. At 88fps that's around 300ft before you can see, scary.

    I'll keep searching but if you know of a mod, I'd appreciate if you could help.

    Thanks,

    Jim
    #1
  2. KyleZ71

    KyleZ71 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    2
    I know jc whittney use to sell some type of overide fuse i believe.. My father had it on his 96 tahoe. but then again he did not have hid lights
    #2
  3. SurrealOne

    SurrealOne Former Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    10,778
    Likes Received:
    13
    #3
  4. ChevyHD

    ChevyHD New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    The diode won't work on his body style because he doesn't have two relays for high and low. You need to take the ground lead from you low beam and ground it to your truck.
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2012
    #4
  5. SurrealOne

    SurrealOne Former Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    10,778
    Likes Received:
    13
    Thanks for the clarification. I wasnt' sure what he had in the fuse box. Was worth a shot...
    #5
  6. ChevyHD

    ChevyHD New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup, I was hoping the diode would work as well for my truck but its rather simple to do it. Helps out a ton.
    #6
  7. 53jimc

    53jimc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Everyone,

    I found this on another forum. The '99 only has one relay to control the high/low beams and I think it does it through the BCM.

    So, here are the instructions. I just did this and it works perfectly. Took 10 minutes, tops.

    and I quote:
    "
    1) Open hood
    2) Remove brace from firewall to Driver's side fender.
    3) remove top of Circuit panel
    4) unhook the snaps from the passenger and drivers side of the cover...look hard they are there!
    5) Roll entire circuit board over towards the passenger side.
    6) Locate the Grey connector...there is only one.
    7) at location D3 (3rd down 4th to the right) is a light gauge yellow wire. It is the only yellow wire in this row.
    8) Tap this wire and ground it to the Light ground on the firewall. Follow the lead from the Hood mounted light, and you will find it ...just to the left (YOUR OTHER LEFT!!!) of the Master Cylinder.
    9) Put your stuff back together...you are done...arent you glad you kept that cover?
    Enjoy your new quad headlights!

    I cut and pasted this from another forum but have done this and it works great. There is another way to do it using a relay but this is alot easier and since your working on the power side and not the dround you don't need a fuse. The lights themselves are fused on the power side of the circuit."
    #7
  8. ChevyHD

    ChevyHD New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's doing the same as what I said, just more complicated lol.
    #8
  9. 53jimc

    53jimc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    LOL, yep. I guess it just spells it out... good thing is it works.
    #9
  10. ChevyHD

    ChevyHD New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup, I'm glad you accomplished your goal!! lol its my favorite mod easily!
    #10
  11. 53jimc

    53jimc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had done the "disable the auto lights" a few months ago. I like my lights manual.
    #11
  12. SurrealOne

    SurrealOne Former Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    10,778
    Likes Received:
    13
    Good stuff! :great:
    #12
  13. 53jimc

    53jimc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can I use your avitar? I'm a good brother, too. I haven't seen that one before.
    #13
  14. SurrealOne

    SurrealOne Former Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    10,778
    Likes Received:
    13
    You're more than welcome to do so.
    #14
  15. shibby2oo8

    shibby2oo8 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Finally got my computer back so i can post now. Did you run relays for your hid ballasts? When I did mine I wired in relays to protect the factory harness and just grounded the low beam realy so it stays on when there is power from the switch no matter what the highs do. If I didnt have the KC's I wouldnt have done the hid highs because of the delay.
    #15

Share This Page