Ac/heater not working

Discussion in 'Chevy Silverado Forum (GMC Sierra)' started by Justice17, Apr 22, 2012.

1. Justice17

Justice17 New Member

Hey what's up guys/ladies, I am here with my issue of the week lol my heater/ac isn't working all that well and I have no idea why. It seems to start blowing once the truck warms up but still not very heavily, like almost non-existant. Anyone know why? I thought maybe the AC just needed to be recharged but as far as I know that wouldn't affect the heater. Help please!!!!!!!! Oh and it's a 05 Silverado with the 5.3. Worked fine when I bought it.
  2. rileyjr16

rileyjr16 New Member

It could be your in-cab air filter is plugged up but I'm no genius but thats where I would look.
  3. Justice17

Justice17 New Member

where is that?
  4. rileyjr16

rileyjr16 New Member

Under the glove box. I'll see if I can't find a picture
  5. rileyjr16

rileyjr16 New Member

cockpit.jpg

Since I'm not good with photoshopping and computers in general, its under the glove box right where that black 3 pronged looking piece is.
  6. Enkeiavalanche

Enkeiavalanche Moderator

It's a 05 he does not have one... Does it work at high speed , Like the last 2 clicks on the fan control?
  7. Pikey

Pikey Moderator

Chances are that the resistor for the fan is bad. My 02 did the same thing. No lower fan speeds only high. Depending on the controls you have they can range from $30 to $100. Pretty easy to change out also.
  8. UpsetProps

UpsetProps New Member

I know the 07's had a recall on either the blower motor itself or its control module. If you bought it brand new and it had the recall you should have received something in the mail about 1.5years ago. (That's when I got the notice for my 07).

If you bought it used perhaps just call a dealership and ask if there was a recall on that model year.
  9. Enkeiavalanche

Enkeiavalanche Moderator