Newest Gallery Photos

1. Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online
    Online since 2004, we are the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV forum and user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free
    Registering is Free and Easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

after larger tires? for a noob.

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by Jmill77, Sep 29, 2008.

1. Jmill77

Jmill77 New Member

Im sure this has been asked somewhere but i could not find it and Im a noob.

If i get larger tires what has to be done to correct the speedo and odometer in an 08 silverado? Can the computer be reprogrammed to correct or do you have to get a third party kit to correct it? IF you need a kit which one is the best?

i just got my new 08 silverado 1500 with 20 in rims...but they come with goodyear eagle ls-2 tires...which are just wrong for this truck. Im looking to keep the factory rim and just put a little more agressive,taller tire on.
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2008
  2. 95CTburb19

95CTburb19 Epic Member 5+ Years 1000 Posts

depending how large or a tire you run, it won't be off that much. On my cherokee the stock tire is like a 225 and I'm running a 33 now and its off by 20% but that is a substantial size difference.
  3. adidasboy918

adidasboy918 Epic Member 5+ Years 500 Posts

hi, if your truck came with 20's on it stock then the speedo is already set for it. i have the 07 lt1 with 20's but if you want you can go buy a programer and be able to change a few other things on the truck.
  4. 07 redrado

07 redrado Rockstar

you can take it to the dealer and have the computer reflashed, but if u ever change size again the u have to go back and have it done again. im going to buy a programmer to change my size cuz i already know im going bigger next set of tires.
  5. Jmill77