1. Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online
    Online since 2004, we are the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV forum and user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free
    Registering is Free and Easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Aftermarket backup camera options

Discussion in 'Chevy Express Forum (GMC Savana)' started by spammy_h, Jul 21, 2014.

Newest Gallery Photos

1. spammy_h

spammy_h New Member

I've been researching backup cameras for my 2010 Express, and wanted to know if anyone has some thoughts on this scenario:

• I want to go wireless / not track 20ft. of wire from the camera to the mirror
    • I've seen some 3rd tail light kits - I like this option, but they're really expensive
    • I would like to use the mirror/monitor solution vs. a separate monitor on the dashboard (unless you can convince me otherwise)
    • Can you effectively use a license plate holder mirror on the Express since the tail lights are not near the tail lights (i.e., the reverse lights are on the frame, but the license plate in on the door)
    • I'm ok with building my own kit (I'm also trying to save money and not drop $300 for this project), but want to make sure all the parts go together correctly.

If you have any ideas, I'm open to hearing them. Thanks,

Spammy_H
  2. ChevyFan

ChevyFan Administrator Staff Member 5+ Years 5000 Posts

Spammy is your username?
  3. spammy_h

spammy_h New Member

Yep - That's me. and I'm real. Not a netbot :).
  4. tsbrewers

tsbrewers Member

Well, I might not be able to help you much, but I did mount a camera on my van. I went a completely different route than you want to go though