1. Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online
    Online since 2004, we are the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV forum and user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free
    Registering is Free and Easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

audio help please

Discussion in 'Audio, Video & Gadget Tech' started by jerrynino, Aug 11, 2009.

1. jerrynino

jerrynino Rockstar ROTM Winner 100 Posts

so im a complete newbie when it comes to audio... ive never done any system modifications so im clueless... i went to a local shop and they were talking to me about a probox which comes with 10'' subwoofers and a memphis amp installed for about 1000... is this a good deal or should i just buy a custom box, woofers, an amp and have it installed?

and what is a good reasonable price?

im not trying to disturb the peace or anything just want more bass :glasses:
  2. leadpan101

leadpan101 Rockstar

Depends on the sub and amp that they want to give you as far as price. 1000 sounds a little steep
  3. Tdaz250

Tdaz250 Rockstar 100 Posts

Shops are always gonna give you a steep price in my opinion. Its gonna be chepaer for you to look around on ebay for a for subs+sub boxes+ amps. Just depends what your looking for. If you want like a flush box to go under the back seat there are tons of them on ebay. Kicker even sells box's with subs already in them custom for trucks. Just check on ebay, i guarentee its cheaper then going to a car audio place.

http://cgi.ebay.com/KICKER-07-09-CH...in_0?hash=item5d25d5e03f&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

Theres an example - 2 subs in a flush box for under the back seat, its only 360. Then you just get a good amp for them which is probably around 200 bucks and bam, great bass for about 500-600. Beats a grand at the audio shop! :great:
  4. jerrynino