1. Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online
    Online since 2004, we are the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV forum and user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free
    Registering is Free and Easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Battery isolator solution for dual battery setups (factory & aftermarket)

Discussion in 'GM Electrical Tech' started by dptyrob, Nov 28, 2010.

1. dptyrob

dptyrob Member

I'm not an expert on anything (certainly not electrical issues), so I'm hoping that I don't make a complete idiot out of myself by sharing this with y'all. I've got a 98 Suburban with a dual battery setup from the factory. Recently I experienced the joy of having one of the batteries croak and then it sucked the life out of the other battery. By the time I figured out what had happened, the other battery was no longer capable of holding enough charge to start it on its own when it was cold. The simple solution to the immediate problem was, of course, 2 new batteries. I'm a little (ok, maybe alot) on the obsessive compulsive side though, and didn't want to experience this same problem again. That, and I also wanted to set this thing up to where if something happened to drain one battery, that I'd still have a way to start it with the other.

In looking at battery isolators that you can buy from the auto parts store I ran into the decision of which kind of isolator you can use; the diode or the relay type. The drawback of the diode type is that it cuts down on the rate at which your alternator can charge the battery (or at least one of them). The drawbacks that they both had was the price of the isolator and the wiring necessary to install them (none of it is huge, but hey, I'm poor :) ).