Belt Dressing?

Discussion in 'Maintenance & Upkeep' started by Goldie, Nov 19, 2013.

1. Goldie

Goldie New Member

I found a can of STP belt dressing spray while rummaging about in the garage. I haven't used it but was wondering what other members thought of it.
  2. 08_rado_rocker

08_rado_rocker New Member

I've had bad experiences with belt dressing in the past... Squeals and premature wear were the results when I used it. That was on Kristine, v-belt drives.. I've never used it on a serpentine system before.
  3. Conlan Rose

Conlan Rose Super Moderator

I think you are only supposed to use dressings on V-belts. Never use them on a serpentine.
  4. Guardrail

Guardrail New Member

Throw it in the garbage where it belongs.
  5. poncho62

poncho62 Member

Belt dressing is only a temporary measure....buy a new belt if it needs it
  6. Enkeiavalanche

Enkeiavalanche Moderator

If you have noise use some Ivry soap on them that stops the noise
  7. BurbanMan

BurbanMan Member

Belt dressing? Your talking about soda right?! Lol
  8. The Heater

The Heater New Member

No, the manufacturers don't want you to use that crap.
  9. BurbanMan

BurbanMan Member

lol they don't recommend panty hose for temporary v belt replacement either. Don't mean it doesn't work lol
  10. The Heater

The Heater New Member

Yeah, you're the guy who doesn't think he has to follow instructions on packing his parachute either. Go ahead and do everything your way. Some people just don't know how to follow instructions. The prisons are filled with them.
  11. BurbanMan

BurbanMan Member

roflmao! And you do EVERYTHING by the book to the letter right?
  12. poncho62

poncho62 Member

The pantyhose thing may have worked for a few miles 50 years ago.....with todays vehicles, not a chance.

Buy a new belt.
  13. BurbanMan

BurbanMan Member

it only worked with the V-belt as does belt dressing. Replacement is the only option with serpentine.
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2013
  14. Goldie