GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER

big bore throttle body

Discussion in 'Performance & Fuel' started by ponyexpress976, Jan 28, 2008.

  1. ponyexpress976

    ponyexpress976 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just put on a big bore throttle body and now my service engine light is on. I'm gonna run it over to auto zone and have them read it and re-set it. Any suggestions from you guys?
    #1
  2. no0b123

    no0b123 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tell us how it goes at AutoZone. I am interested myself in getting one installed. Probably nothing at all, just need to re-program the truck to recognize the new mod.
    #2
  3. ponyexpress976

    ponyexpress976 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TB install follow up

    Re-setting the ECM by unplugging the battery overnight didn't work so I got it scanned at autozone. I forget the exact code # but it came back as a MAF low voltage. Half way home the light went off and hasn't come back on since...about 500 miles of driving both consevatively and getting on it with an obnoxious honda!!! Hope this help everyone considering this mod.
    #3
  4. ChevyFan

    ChevyFan Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,002
    Likes Received:
    13
    Good news. Can you give us some more details on how the mod went, how long it took to install, any difficulties, photos? Thanks. :great:
    #4
  5. ponyexpress976

    ponyexpress976 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TB install follow up

    it was really easy to put on...the hardest part abvout the install was it was freezing outside and my hands were cold so i kept dropping stuff. In total took about an hour.
    #5
  6. no0b123

    no0b123 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    What were the performance gains, and can we see pictures? :great:
    #6
  7. Pete95Sierra

    Pete95Sierra New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,934
    Likes Received:
    3
    sometimes when you do mods like that it takes the ECM to get used to the higher amount of air flow, etc. so it puts the light on... it eventually gets used to it and runs fine as your did.... they are a good mod tho i would suggest them
    #7
  8. jerm1978

    jerm1978 New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I do mods like this I usually disconnect the battery while I'm working that way when I'm finished and I reconnect it and start the truck, the computer recalibrates.
    #8

Share This Page