Body Repairs

Discussion in 'Chevy Truck Accessories' started by MD4x4 Fireman, Jul 15, 2007.

Newest Photos

1. MD4x4 Fireman

MD4x4 Fireman New Member 1000 Posts 100 Posts

I am not sure if this is in the right place. But I am about to start to work on fixing some rust spots on mytruck. Can someone give me some pointers, I have never done it before. Ideas on what to buy as far as tools and bondo brands and things to watch out for. Any help would be great. :confused: :confused: :confused:
  2. Paul M

Paul M New Member

In my case, body repairs are usually left to the experts. I will clean up surface rust on the underside of the vehicle with a wire wheel on an electric drill, clean with a chem cleaner, rinse, let dry, and then prime and paint. Also, undercoat if desired. I am in Az so I do not always undercoat.
    I never bondo. I guess you can do the repair this way if you are just looking for a quick aesthetic repair, but it is not a good repair.
    The rusted metal needs to be cut out and a metal patch installed; or better yet - the panel is replaced. Vehicles have sheetmetal panels heli-arced in place. These panels can be replaced. They have the proper shape and form.
    Paul M.
  3. tbplus10

tbplus10 Super Moderator Staff Member Platinum Contributor 1000 Posts 100 Posts

If your repairing rust spots it'd be much better to do patch panels and panel replacements instead of bondo. Bondo gets moisture behind it most times and creates more rust later.
    LMC truck sells patch panels or replacement panels for all rust prone areas on almost every GM truck ever built.

If you decide you must use bondo the Bondo brand is pretty good.

For bondo repairs remove all the corrosion and paint in the affected area with a grinder or very abrasive circular style sander.
    If you have rust through you'll need to repair it with fiberglass patches behind the panel, then use bondo over top to recreate the body lines.
    Mix up only enough bondo to do 1 spot at a time.