1. Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online
    Online since 2004, we are the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV forum and user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free
    Registering is Free and Easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Brake drum removal problem

Discussion in 'Chevy Suburban Forum (GMC Yukon XL)' started by chukzelda, Nov 5, 2011.

1. chukzelda

chukzelda New Member

Hi,

This is my first time working on drum brakes. My 1985 C20 Suburban has rear drum brakes. Per the manual, I jack up the rear wheel, remove the tire and *should* be able to pull the brake drum off. The brake drum is extremely rusty and won't budge. I've shot break-free fluid on the bolts and center and tried to pry the brake drum free. No good.

Looking it over carefully I see a single nut and bolt on the rear side. Manual doesn't mention removing this and right this second I don't have a wrench big enough. Am I supposed to remove this nut off the bolt on the rear?

if not, what are my options for getting this brake drum off?

Appreciate the help, I'm leaving the suburban jacked up in hopes some advice will rescue me :}

Thanks
    Chuk
  2. tbplus10

tbplus10 Epic Member Staff Member 5+ Years 5000 Posts Platinum Contributor

Make sure you dont have the parking brake on.
    Try adjusting the brake adjustment through the back of the dust shield.
    Their may be a wear on the drum causing the shoes to be holding the drum on, adjusting the parking brake will sometimes move the shoes far enough out of the way to pull the drum off.
    If all else fails start hitting the inside lip of the drum with a BFH.
  3. MrShorty

MrShorty Epic Member Staff Member 5+ Years 1000 Posts