1. Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online
    Online since 2004, we are the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV forum and user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free
    Registering is Free and Easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Buying Advice Please.

Discussion in 'Chevy Suburban Forum (GMC Yukon XL)' started by nottmbantam, Nov 27, 2012.

1. nottmbantam

nottmbantam Member 1 Year 100 Posts

Folks,

Hello, newbie here. I'm a British expat living and working in Saudi Arabia. Currently have a 2007 Trailblazer, but looking to buy a GMC Suburban, around 95 / 96 kind of age. The main reason is just wanting something bigger and I really like the idea of having a big block engine as I'd never dream of being able to run something like that back in the UK.

These trucks are very very popular here, the average Saudi family is quite large, so they hold their value really well as being a popular people carrier. Doing some basic research, a 1995 2500 model 454 block will fetch around $6000. There is of course a successful trade in importing the trucks directly from USA to here, where there is a ready market for them.

Fuel is cheap here so , my TB has an 80-ish litre fuel tank which costs around $12 to fill up.

So - onto questions, bearing in mind that I'm after a 2500 7.4L engine:

Do they all come with 4x4 drive?
    If so, are they electronic switching or manual switching ( lever in floor pan ). 1994 and earlier seems to be manual switching?
    How big are the fuel tanks - capacity?
    Are the rear seats fully fold down flat or do I have to manually remove them?
    What are they generally like to service and maintain?
    Are the 'barn door' rear access better or the fold down doors? Practically speaking.

Daft questions: