1. Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online
    Online since 2004, we are the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV forum and user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free
    Registering is Free and Easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Cutting top off Suburban

Discussion in 'Chevy Suburban Forum (GMC Yukon XL)' started by lakelanierboater, Oct 8, 2010.

1. lakelanierboater

lakelanierboater New Member

Hey, I am NOT a techie but want to buy a 91 or older suburban and chop the top and make it a convertible. Anyone done this? Any guidance? Thanks.
  2. lakelanierboater

lakelanierboater New Member

Hey, I am not a techie but thinking about buying a 91 suburban and cutting the top off and making a convertible. Anyone ever tried this and have any advice?
  3. Crawdaddy

Crawdaddy Moderator Staff Member Platinum Contributor 1000 Posts

I've seen it done a couple times on Pirate 4x4, and frankly, I didn't like the way they looked. However, I'm totally biased because I could never wish such devastation on such a fine piece of classic engineering beauty. They usually chop them right after the back doors and put a bulkhead in right there to close in the cab. Then they build a tube cage over the "bed" and wheel the bejesus out of them.
  4. silveradotrailblazer

silveradotrailblazer New Member 1000 Posts

X2 what Crawdaddy said about chopping up a 'Burb.
  5. FergusonT

FergusonT New Member

I did something similar to my '91 Subaru Legacy....turned it into a truck.
  6. Enkeiavalanche

Enkeiavalanche Moderator 1000 Posts

There's a guy from LI,NY With one custom.. With about 20 TV's and a big audio system. Very sweet.. He has a Big bar going up the middle with some of the TV's..
  7. murdog94

murdog94 New Member 1000 Posts