1. Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online
    Online since 2004, we are the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV forum and user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free
    Registering is Free and Easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Does this sound like a bad fan clutch?

Discussion in 'Chevy Suburban Forum (GMC Yukon XL)' started by bettingsumo, Nov 8, 2013.

1. bettingsumo

bettingsumo New Member

Hello everyone! I have a noise I need some help identifying. Took the video below so you could hear it. This is from my 1999 Suburban K2500 7.4L. My first guess is a bad fan clutch, but I am not sure as this is my first time dealing with that. Anything else it could be? The noise comes at startup for a minute or two then typically goes away only to reappear every so often while I am driving.

http://youtu.be/hPqYaapdA2w
  2. Pikey

Pikey Moderator Staff Member 2 Years ROTM Winner 1000 Posts

You have a bad pully bearing, ps pump, alternator, or waterpump. I would pull the belt off and spin the pullys by hand listening and feeling for a crunchy or squeak.
  3. bettingsumo

bettingsumo New Member

OK, I pulled the belt and spun everything. Everything seemed to spin pretty freely, the only noise I could hear was from the alternator. Here is a video of the alternator turning:

http://youtu.be/z9sGNlzQ9uE
  4. estrom

estrom Member 1 Year

Something to try if you cannot identify the issue using Pikey's suggestion. While it's running, take a 2-3 foot long piece of hose or some other type of tube apparatus. Hold one end to your ear, and move the other end around to each pulley. Sometimes this will help specify where the sound is originating.
  5. bettingsumo

bettingsumo New Member