Newest Gallery Photos

1. Chevy Truck Forum

Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online

Online since 2004, we're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free

Registering is Free and Easy! Do it today and we'll see you on the forums soon!

First Time Poster But Long Time Reader - Need a little help

Discussion in 'Lifted & Offroad Suspension' started by SurrealOne, Aug 14, 2011.

1. SurrealOne

SurrealOne Former Member ROTM Winner 1000 Posts

Greetings,
    I just traded my stock 2001 Silverado LS for a 2004 Sierra SLT Ext. Cab that's got a 6" Fabtech lift and completely bald 325/70R17 Open Country AT's on non-stock 17" wheels that I hate. I looked at this as a chance to put on what I want, but I am completely new to the lifted world and need a little help...

I've chosen a wheel (Helo 835 18x9, 18mm offset, 5.71 backspace) but have been unable to determine the largest tire I can use without trimming. (This means I've also not selected a tire, yet.) Combing these forums (searches) has yielded no usable help, as those running similar setups are either NBS, a different lift height, or have trimmed. I'm contemplating the following:
    • 33x12.5R18's
    • 35x12.5R18's
    Can anyone provide insight as to whether I can run either of these sizes on that wheel without issue or trimming? Can I go bigger? If so, how much bigger? Should I go smaller? If so, what do you recommend?

While I am asking questions, I'm also looking for a wheel-to-wheel nerf bar (with step) that will fit the truck. The trick is it's got an 8' bed and I'm finding few options for that scenario. Any advice there would be welcome, too, as climbing into the truck as well as getting to a truck box is tough for me without this.

Last edited: Aug 15, 2011