Fixed my 52" Samsung LCD today

Discussion in 'The Coffee Shop ~ Chit Chat' started by Red Z71 Max, Feb 12, 2012.

1. Red Z71 Max

Red Z71 Max Rockstar 3 Years ROTM Winner 1000 Posts

My Samsung 52' LCD has been a great TV for about 4 years now. All of the sudden when you would turn it on it started turning off and on non-stop. It would do this 30 -35 times before it would actually stay turned on. I decided to do a Google search and sure enough this is a widespread problem. I found a YouTube video that explained there are a couple of capacitors on the power supply that go bad and bulge. Since I work on electronics for a living it was a breeze. Changed 2 capacitors that I got from Radio Shack for $1.79 each. TV IS FIXED!!! Total time was about 1 hour and 20 min. SAVED big $$$$$$$$
    FRMLSTPYAVXC.jpg

Last edited: Feb 12, 2012
  2. Coach24

Coach24 Rockstar 3 Years 5000 Posts

TV IS FIXED!!!

Soooooooooooooo no more babies?:rofl:

Seriously though, Good job it is nice being able to save hundreds for repairs.

3. Als09Sierra

Als09Sierra Rockstar 4 Years ROTM Winner 1000 Posts

Nice! That's one thing I was more comfortable with. I am a complete idiot with electronics. :no:

4. Red Z71 Max

At 49 that ain't happening in this household. I had the old snip-snip about ten years ago!!!

5. Coach24

:rofl: I just got a haircut last weeks but no scissors anywhere below the neck line.:grrrrrr:

6. AMac

AMac Member 2 Years GMTC Chick 500 Posts ROTM Winner

Nice Job Red!

7. Cheez

Cheez Rockstar 100 Posts

Not bad! With a little bit of hunting you can find tv that just need a power supply replacement. Big tv, little money!

8. TELORVEHC

TELORVEHC Rockstar 4 Years 1000 Posts

One of our 50" Samsungs crapped out last year, turns out it was a dead capacitor on the power supply, go figure. It was still under warranty though so it didn't cost us anything to fix it.

9. Red Z71 Max