Flomaster Exhaust

Discussion in 'Chevy Silverado Forum (GMC Sierra)' started by JohnRoss1986, Apr 1, 2013.

1. JohnRoss1986

JohnRoss1986 New Member

Alright boys, it's time for exhaust. I've done some research and it looks like Flomaster True Duals 40 Series is really popular. I just don't know what it sounds like. I want something everyone can hear, but not so loud that its annoying for my neighbors.

Suggestions!

2. SurrealOne

SurrealOne Former Member ROTM Winner 1000 Posts

I have a single flowmaster 50 series and it's loud enough that with the truck 200' from my apartment and all windows shut, it's CLEARLY audible from inside when I remote start it ... and as it sits and warms up. The rumbling glug-glug-glug is throaty ... despite living in a heavily wooded environment where trees buffer some of the sound.

When at the family lake house I can hear it down in the basement when I remote start the trucjh, too -- despite the beasement being earth on three sides and having only 2 windows and two french doors (facing away from where the truck is parked). That's a heavily wooded environment, too.

True duals are going to be loud ... and you can expect a good bit of cab drone, too. Here are some on a 5.3L:

3. I have the series 40 muffler and it sounds great. It's loud but not abnouxious. And when you step on it people turn heads. Full exhaust may sound different though.

4. JohnRoss1986

JohnRoss1986 New Member

I'm thinking about just getting dual exhaust, it's a whole hell of a lot cheaper than true duals.

5. Sierraowner5.3

Sierraowner5.3 Rockstar 3 Years 1000 Posts

my last truck (05 sierra) had a single into dual super 40. it was loud, and it droned pretty good around 50-65 ish. i have a regualr 40 with stock pipe on my current truck, and I like it alot better, almost no drone, quiet unless you get on it.

Alex

6. SurrealOne

SurrealOne Former Member ROTM Winner 1000 Posts