1. Chevy Truck Forum

Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online

Online since 2004, we're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free

Registering is Free and Easy! Do it today and we'll see you on the forums soon!

front Differential

Discussion in 'Member Introductions' started by jacobus, Jan 2, 2010.

1. jacobus

jacobus New Member

Hi All ,
    I'm new to the forum . I joined in hopes of helping others and receiving help as well .
    I'm a caterpillar mechanic but try to work on my own vehicles as well .
    I have recently bought a 2007 2500hd 6l gas 210000kms
    I drove onto the lake yesterday and got stuck min the snow . I had switched to 4wd high before going onto the lake . I heard a small clunk just before getting stuck .
    I washed my truck today and raised it off the ground , front end only .
    Switch posistion 2wd .
    I turned each front wheel and noticed that the axles turn as well on both sides .
    I posistioned the switch to 4wd high and heard engagement of the transfer case . I went under the truck and the drive shaft doesn't turn , normal as the rear wheels are still on the ground . I can still turn both the front wheels by hand .
    I drained the oil and found no debris or cuttings just some fuzz on the magnetic plug .
    I removed the front skid plate and noticed that there is a solenoid on the front differential .
    How and when does this solenoid work ? Could this just be an electrical issue ? The dash switch indicates all posistions 2wd , 4wd and 4wd low when selected . But there is no drive to the front wheels ?
    Can anyone help here
    Thank you in advance .

2. MrShorty

MrShorty Epic Member Staff Member 5+ Years 1000 Posts