Discussion in 'GA - Georgia Boys Chevy Truck Club' started by 00chevy53, Nov 14, 2010.
just curious to see what you all think about this and if anyones been issued a ticket for it....
I have never heard of this, as I am from Canada, and wonder what it is as my in-laws vacate Florida for about 3 or 4 months a year.---we hope to get down sometime, and was wondering if you could post what it was all about and others on this site might not know about it either.thanks from Ontario, Canada
Yeah X2 on what Silverhoby said. What is this "super speed law"? Is that where they take your car & license away from you forever if you're caught doing over 150 mph?
Subscribing... interested in more info.
I tried to find an official website from the state that explained the proposed "Super Speeder Law" heres the best I could find:
Essentially the new law adds to your fine if your caught going over 85mph on a 4 lane or wider highway or 75mph on a 2 lane roadway.
I'm sure theres other stipulations in the law but these are the issues that seem to have everyone upset over the new law.
Personally I dont have an issue with this law because I feel if you violate the law be ready to pay, there is a posted speed limit and it's your responsibility to not only know it but to obey it.
Yes I do occaisionally speed but as I get older I'm finding the speed violations I commit are lower than they were say 10 years ago, if I'm running 65-70 in a 60mph zone its a very rare day, I usually set the cruise at 64/65 and leave it at that.
Once in a great while I'll run my bike as fast as 80+, but again I know the speed limit and if I get caught it's my fault.
I've become a firm believer of leave the high speeds on the track where you and the other drivers are prepared for them.
i havent had a problem with this, but this probably is more of a regional thing than anything, when i say regional i truly mean small town vs city, I come from augusta ga but go to school in statesboro ga, there is a huge difference in the size between the two and of course the cops, for example in augusta( the bigger city for those who dont know) i have not ever been pulled over for speeding or a noise violation (as i run a large set of subs in my vehicles), statesboro on the other hand i have received 1 speeding ticket was around 150 i wanna say, and i have paid near 1000 dollars in noise violations, and i am very careful to play my music only in non residential areas...
It's not a big deal really. Just don't fly down the road.
I never heard of this either, and i am with Spogatz on this...the cops here probably never heard of it ..lol
Maybe this will help clarify things a bit:
Penalties: (Specifically the last reference:316.1933(1);
(5) Any infraction of... s.316.189 of exceeding the speed limit by 30 m.p.h)
(redacted for brevity)
STATE OF FLORIDADepartment of Highway Safety and Motor VehiclesAPPENDIX " C "[See 318.19(3) Mandatory Hearing Required] M c 4 265 414
(3) Improper stop School Bus (previously violation code 397) N m0 30 549
Effective October 1, 2009, fines for (1)(a) and (1)(b) increased by $65 and completion of traffic
school is required even if adjudication is withheld for any offenses in 316.172
NOTES: UNLAWFUL SPEED - Speeds in excess of 15 MPH of lawful /
posted speed = 4 points. Unlawful speed resulting in a
crash = 6 points
01-05 MPH over limit = Warning only - DO NOT ISSUE U.T.C.
06-09 MPH over limit = $ 25.00
10-14 MPH over limit = $100.00
15-19 MPH over limit = $150.00 (effective 2/1/09)
20-29 MPH over limit = $175.00 (effective 2/1/09)
30 & above MPH over limit = $250.00*Effective Oct. 1, 2006, Mandatory Hearing when speed exceeds
limit by 30 mph or more.
Effective Oct. 1, 2006, Fine is doubled for second or subsequent
conviction within 12 months when speed exceeds limit by 30 mph or
NOTES: Speed must be reported if indicated by the officer.
NOTES: Toll Zone - Speeding fines are doubled when posted.
NOTES: Effective July 1, 2007, or before - for violations of 316.1893(5),
add $50 to the above. 01-05 mph will be $50. Repealed 7/1/2010
NOTES: Effective Oct. 1, 2008, a new speeding violation can be written
under 316.1926(2) for violators who exceed the speed limit in
excess of 50 mph. * Fines for 1st offense is $1,000, 2nd offenseis $2,500 and 3rd offense is $5,000.
I know it's a lot of reading, but maybe it'll help someone get it clear?
All the best to everyone.
Don't go over 80 in ga I got one for 130 in 70, luckily I'm not in jail because of my amazing attorney,but 600 dollar ticket
Separate names with a comma.