Newest Gallery Photos

1. Chevy Truck Forum

Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online

Online since 2004, we're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free

Registering is Free and Easy! Do it today and we'll see you on the forums soon!

Greasing the suspension parts

Discussion in 'Chevy C/K Truck Forum' started by dvferrara, Jan 4, 2012.

1. dvferrara

dvferrara New Member

I like to do my own oil changes but every once in a while I still bring my truck to Jiffy Lube or something so they can grease all the suspension parts. Can anybody tell me which parts I need to grease so I can do it by myself? I have never used a grease gun before but from what I hear it is just like a caulk gun. Any help is much appreciated!

2. tbplus10

tbplus10 Epic Member Staff Member 5+ Years 5000 Posts Platinum Contributor

Starting from the rear:
    Driveshaft U-joints, if they have zert fittings, if you have a carrier bearing there should be 4 U-joints, no carrier bearing 2 U-joints.
    Carrier Bearing, if it has zert fittings. For carrier bearings without zert fittings if I remember I'll normally put a needle point tip on the greese gun, peel back the seal edge and shoot a little greese in.
    Front suspension should have anywhere from 4 to 8 zert fittings, you'll have to look around for them, if you see a grease boot on a joint there should be a zert fitting somewhere nearby.
    Proper technique for grease gun use is to wipe off any debri or old grease from the zert fitting, connect up and pump in grease, watch for a small amount of grease seeping out of the joint, that should be enough. Disconnect and wipe off any grease from the zert and where it was seeping out.