Help on Silverado Double DIN Stereo Install

Discussion in 'Audio, Video & Gadget Tech' started by wmkess, Nov 9, 2012.

1. wmkess

wmkess Member

I ordered a JVC (Model KW-HDR720) double DIN stereo from Crutchfield a few days ago. I got it in and spent one night this week soldering all of the wiring harnesses together. After finishing up that, I looked into getting the stereo into the dash install kit that was included with my order and was confused. It's been a few years since I've done a stereo install and this is my first time to do a double DIN unit too. My problem lies with not knowing how to correctly attach the stereo to the dash kit. This kit is not made for the tabs on the stereo cage to be bent to hold it on, but looks to be fastened on with screws.

As you can see in the pictures I attached, the stereo has 2 fastening locations on each side and the dash kit has slots on its sides for fastening it to the stereo. The problem is that the screws that came with the kit are too short to pass through the cage connect to the stereo. With the sides of the dash kit flush against the cage and the faceplate held up to it, it seems as if it is too wide with the cage in place. My question for those on here who may know is...should I removed the cage and fasten the dash kit sides directly to the unit? And can I remove a bracket or something off of the factory radio and attach it to my unit and just avoid using the dash kit altogether?

I know this was long and drawn out for such a simple question but I wanted to describe my problem accurately. I'm hoping I can take this suggestion and turn the final process of this install into a <30 min job instead of a waste of a nice Saturday.

JVC_DDIN.jpg
    dash_installation_kit.jpg

2. SurrealOne

SurrealOne Former Member ROTM Winner 1000 Posts

Skip the cage.

3. wmkess

wmkess Member