Hot air from vent and a/c

Discussion in 'General Chevy & GM Tech Questions' started by uposb4, Nov 8, 2009.

1. uposb4

uposb4 New Member

Hello, I have an 05 Silverado and im getting only hot air from the drivers side vents with the lever set on cool, With a/c on and off. The passenger side vents work as they should whichever way i have the temp. control set. This has happened twice before and i would turn the truck off for a minute and this would seem to solve the problem but im not sure if this actually has anything to do with whats wrong. This does not change anything now. Any help with this is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

2. unplugged

unplugged Epic Member 5+ Years 1000 Posts

Welcome. GMTC is the place to be to share and learn about your truck.
    I've never worked on a dual zone ac before. Normally I'd say to check the blend door actuator and the ac relays, but I'm not sure in your case. Someone who has had the same issue will chime in with an answer.

3. iterrones

iterrones New Member

Climate control unit

Hi there, I used to drive a 2004 Chevy Silverado that had exactly the same problem, except on mine it was the passenger side that was blowing hot air, I used to shut the truck off and it would start working fine again but eventually it quit working. Took it to the dealer it turns out it was the "climate control unit" I think that is the correct name for it, its about 3" X 3" and its located under the dash somewhere, the part it self was about $140 or so, if youre mechanically inclined this is something you could do yourself, just buy the part and install, you can still do what youre doing as far as shuting the truck off, but eventually it will quit working. Good Luck!:happy:

4. uposb4

uposb4 New Member

Thanks for the replies. Couple of questions, My unit does not have the rear defogger button and the units i found on ebay do. Will this be a problem? Whats involved in removing and replacing? ...or should i just let the dealer deal with it? Thanks.