Newest Gallery Photos

1. Chevy Truck Forum

Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online

Online since 2004, we're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free

Registering is Free and Easy! Do it today and we'll see you on the forums soon!

I need some advice on a Silverado.

Discussion in 'Chevy Truck Talk & GM News' started by Dan P, Sep 24, 2011.

1. Dan P

Dan P New Member

First off whats up, My name is Dan I am new to this web page forum. I am looking to getting a Silverado per rquest of my grandpa who has been a chevy fan for 80+ years. I'm pretty abusive to my vehicles as I am an adrenaline Junkie. I want to Buy a Silverado that I can build into a street rod, I would very much like a 2d 2wd with a short bed. I want to be able to boost it hopefully with a supercharger. I am unsure if I should get a diesel, I personally think it would be cool to Build a Diesel Speed Demon. What year should I be looking for?

2. Gregsyellorado

Gregsyellorado Rockstar

Welcome, first off let me say, that a diesel is not offered in a rcsb truck, not to say that it couldn't be done, but just pricey, Second what is your budget? I persoanlly would stay with any GMC/Chevrolet from 1999-Current. The engines in the trucks are based on the current LS series that GM uses. They are available in 4.8, 5.3, and 6.0. All are pretty potent, even the 4.8 (check ou the article below). If you are looking to build a nasty hot rod, the 74-87 body style is popular now, and they are still resonably priced, also the 67-72 bodystyle is nice, and the 88-98 body is nice. And any parts needed for restoration LMC has em. Either way you go keep us posted and welcome to the madness.

Stock GM LS Engine - Big Bang Theory - Hot Rod Magazine

3. Sierraowner5.3