i want to use factory xm antenna with portable xm radio!

Discussion in 'Audio, Video & Gadget Tech' started by agent005, Jun 26, 2010.

1. agent005

agent005 New Member

hi, new here and looking for some help//i have 2007 silverado (new style) crew cab, bose and factory xm...i want to use the factory xm antenna with my portable xm radio (not paying the jacked up price for multiple radios anymore)...i know the xm module is behind the dash....has anyone done this and how SPECIFICALLY is it accomplished.....do i need additional parts?

thanks, Matt

2. Topdogdad1

Topdogdad1 New Member

Hey agent005...I have 7 years installation experience with mobile electronics, although i've moved on to law enforcement, i still know a great deal about these things. I have a 2000 Silverado myself and just installed my DVD/Navigation/XM Radio/I-Pod adapter yesterday. To my knowledge with the factory installed XM Tuners, they are not compatible with ANYTHING for the sole purpose of the dealer making a profit and their current contract with XM. I can definitely assure you the Portable units are not compatible with the direct connect fully installed units. Now if you get on the phone with XM, you SHOULD be able to link the two radios to the same account for a reduced price, they offer alot of deals and combos for multiple units. I know this isn't the news you wanted, sorry pal, just trying to be helpful.

Drew

3. agent005

agent005 New Member

thanks, im just trying to use their antenna...i have seen where it has been done....i was looking for a specific solution.
    good luck in law enforcement....im on the job 14 years

4. ChevyFan

ChevyFan The Sheriff Staff Member 5+ Years 5000 Posts

If anyone can find a soultion to this, do a wrtiteup and post it up here, I'm sure others would like to read about it as well.

5. Topdogdad1

Topdogdad1 New Member