Newest Gallery Photos

1. Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online
    Online since 2004, we are the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV forum and user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free
    Registering is Free and Easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

In need of programmer

Discussion in 'Chevy Silverado Forum (GMC Sierra)' started by Peterson85, Sep 14, 2012.

1. Peterson85

Peterson85 New Member

Help on programmer decision for 2001 2500HD 6.0

Hi guys I am brand new to this and I bought my 01 2500hd with the 6.0 a couple years ago and am in need of a tuner or programmer (hand held) not sure of there is a difference but I was wondering what to go with I have been reading the **** out of all the old posts from like 2010 and am impressed with all the help you guys offer with everything I am thinking of going with diablo just don't know what one
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2012
  2. dipstick

dipstick Member 2 Years 100 Posts

All junk ..get a dyno tune from nelsons or black bear.
  3. SurrealOne

SurrealOne Former Member ROTM Winner 1000 Posts

When it comes to handheld programmers, by themselves they offer better improvement than nothing at all. However, a custom tune is where you get the most bang for your buck, as every truck is a little different and a canned tune on a handheld programmer is so generic that it can't possibly maximize improvement for any one vehicle -- but a custom tune is specific to YOUR vehicle.