1. Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online
    Online since 2004, we are the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV forum and user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free
    Registering is Free and Easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Installing Pioneer P3400BH in 2003 Silverado - Questions - (Bear With Me Please!)

Discussion in 'Audio, Video & Gadget Tech' started by deathcab, Dec 12, 2012.

1. deathcab

deathcab New Member

Hey y'all,

I'm completely new to installing stereo equipment but I really wanted to try this install out and have attempted to get as prepared as possible but I have a few questions to resolve before I get going on this.

I have a 2003 Z71 Silverado LT Extended cab w/ Bose, Onstar, and Steering Wheel Controls. The factory HU won't eject CDs anymore so I just bought this video unit (P3400BH) to replace it. I picked it up new but "open box" because it was missing the factory wiring harness that came with the unit itself. I understand I need a GMOS-04 harness to retain the Bose system. I don't care about the Onstar (don't use it / never upgraded after digital conversion). I also understand I will need the ASWC for my steering wheel controls. Here are the questions I have:

1) Do I need to buy a replacement "factory" wiring harness for the head unit itself? I can get this for about $20 and bought the unit under the assumption I would have to buy one, but now I'm starting to wonder -- Can I just connect the GMOS-04 and then use the RCA plugs to connect to the stereo? If so, how will the unit get power? (is the GMOS-04 plug and play where the two ends connect and it will power the unit?) -- I think I'm mostly confused on how the adapter interfaces.