Is my 87 C10 okay?

Discussion in 'Chevy C/K Truck Forum' started by cyberpine, Oct 11, 2009.

1. cyberpine

cyberpine Rockstar

I'm not a mechanic. I'm looking for somebody to tell me what I'm seeing is typical and and not a big issue with old 87 C10. I'd like to invest some money on rims/tires and exhaust ($1600) and like to know if I'm might be looking at rebuilds of the engine, tranny and brake systems before I do that.

I purchased this 87 C10 about 4 months ago.. test drove the truck .. From what I could tell, it drove great and the body appeared to be in great shape. The truck does not smoke or leak any oil and always starts. The engine is original with 97k miles and a Edelbrok performance intake. It drives stong but I have 3 questions/concerns.

- When I push the engine hard sometimes it pings a little bit, not much, but a little bit? Is this normal and generally what does this mean?
    - I took the carpet out and now I can hear a light grinding noise in the engine. With exception of one single time when I felt the transmission slip, the transmission has always been solid.
    - Sometimes after a long drive, the brakes stiffen up for a few minutes really bad, but then goes back to normal. It's kinda scary what does this mean?

here's a video (Listen to the pinging at first, then the transmission sound, followed by the truck seeming like it will stall)
    [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lg4cCLDsFtY"]YouTube - Is my 1987 Chevy c10 Silverado 1500 Engine and Transmission in good shape?[/ame]

Thanks for any help or infomation.

Last edited: Oct 11, 2009
  2. unplugged

unplugged Epic Member 5+ Years 1000 Posts

Personally, I like to keep a $1000 in my car repair emergency fund. Keeps me from being a pedestrian. I'd hold off on mods untill you can save up the funds for them. Hold onto your cash right now, sounds like the truck can use some tlc.