Jarhead from Idaho

Discussion in 'Member Introductions' started by Cujonaut, Mar 19, 2012.

1. Cujonaut

Cujonaut New Member

Hello GM Truck Club,

I'm a United States Marine and currently the proud owner of a 2000 GMC Sierra 1500 Z71. I grew up on Mopar, but I have to say ever since buying this truck I've become quite pleased with GM. Unfortunately, my love of GM didn't start out with my first GM truck.

My first experience was buying a used 1997 Chevrolet S-10 from the worst kind of truck owner. A guy who thinks he knows everything about working on vehicle, but in actuallity knows next to nothing. I'll be the first to admit that I am not a mechanic, but I'm pretty good at figuring out how things work. When I bought the truck I took it to a mechanic who said it'd be a good A to B pickup and that there were no major problems, but he would soon be proven wrong. I'm going off on a tangent so if you want to skip to the next paragraph I understand. The first issue was that the left rear break light wouldn't work, I assumed it was a burned out bulb, as it turns out the previous owner had taken a blade and cut every single wire to the rear lights and then randomly taped them back together until some of them worked. He didn't have enough wire left over to attach it to a proper ground so he used a pair of vice grips and clamped the ground to the frame. When I bought truck the fuel gauge wasn't working, he said he had replaced it before and that it went out about every year along with the pump. When I finally got the time to check out the pump I noticed that on his previous attempt to fix the fuel pump he had completely shorted out the fuel gauge. I assume what happened was when he had replaced the fuel pump and was putting the fuel tank back in place the wiring harness got in between where the fuel tank strap attaches to the frame of the truck and had been crimped when he tightened the bolts for the strap. It was a miracle the fuel pump even worked anymore. Next the heater