1. Chevy Truck Forum

Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online

Online since 2004, we're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free

Registering is Free and Easy! Do it today and we'll see you on the forums soon!

Looking to get more power and mpg if possible!

Discussion in 'Performance & Fuel' started by Silverado 2005 LS, Apr 2, 2013.

1. I'm looking for ways to get more power and mpg out of my truck. So any suggestions would be appreciated, I prefer to keep it simple! I have a '05 Silvy ext cab V8 4.8L 294 and I have a flow master series model 40 muffler if it matters? I talked to buddies at work they say to just get a block or bore it out. I've bored out my ATV before and was not happy with the results(went through 4pistons, 2clutchs, 3sets of valves and replaced cams multiple times) so I am a little distrusting to the boring out of the motor.

i was thinking ways like air intake, new exhaust, or other ways. And I wanna keep to like a DIY project.

thanks
    joseph

2. SurrealOne

SurrealOne Former Member ROTM Winner 1000 Posts

Start with a handheld tuner AND custom tune specific to your truck. It's the biggest bang for the buck, hands down.

3. Okay and any specific brands to look at?

4. SurrealOne

SurrealOne Former Member ROTM Winner 1000 Posts

PM [MENTION=32828]06MonteSS[/MENTION] on this forum. He is a site sponsor who does custom tunes and bundles tuning work with Diablosport tuners. You can purchase both the tuner and custom tune as a bundle from him cheaper than buying them separately. I'm very pleased with the results of the work he did for me or I wouldn't recommend you reach out to him.

5. Ok, thank you for the help!

Last edited: Apr 2, 2013
  6. 06MonteSS

06MonteSS Rockstar 4 Years 100 Posts