1. Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online
    Online since 2004, we are the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV forum and user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free
    Registering is Free and Easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Master brake cylinder

Discussion in 'General Chevy & GM Tech Questions' started by ratbag, Nov 15, 2010.

1. ratbag

ratbag New Member

After bench bleeding the brake master cylinder do you have to bleed your brakes at each individual wheel or not. I have never done the job before but it looks pretty straight forward. If anyone has any tips I would appreciate.

Thanks
  2. stephan

stephan Rockstar 4 Years 5000 Posts

Welcome to the club Ratbag. If you have an older truck then yes you should probably bleed them all, but if no air has gotten into the lines you may not have to bleed the wheel cyls. & if you have a newer truck this could be an issue.I don't know how old your truck is but there have been some problems with people trying to bleed their own brakes on newer vehicles. Some have to be taken to the dealer & bled with the GM Tech 2 bleeder unit to get ALL the air out, otherwise the pedal remains spongey..
  3. IT-Guy

IT-Guy Member

I have a 96 Z71 and just performed a full brake job on mine and yes you have to bleed the brakes at the wheels after a M.C. replacement. This is also a great time to inspect the hardware of your braking system to include drums (springs, pins, slave cylinders). What year is your vehicle.
  4. stephan