1. Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online
    Online since 2004, we are the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV forum and user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free
    Registering is Free and Easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

MPG & performance upgrade suggestions? plugs, wires, CAI cold air intake

Discussion in 'Performance & Fuel' started by markf1971, Jan 14, 2010.

1. markf1971

markf1971 New Member

I'm new to the forum and I have a tight time line to do what I want to do. That is why I haven't done a lot of searching. I am looking to make some upgrades to maximize my MPG. I basically want to go on the mild or medium side, nothing too wild or expensive.

I have a LOT of automotive experience, but this is my first Suburban and I don't have time to spend 40 hours on the web looking for what is the best bang for my buck. I figured I should just ask someone who had already been there and done that.

BTW I have a 99 C1500 Suburban 350CID w/160,000 miles. I just got it and it was a one owner and well maintained except for the cooling system which I am TOTALLY redoing. I still need to call the previous owner and ask about stuff like the intake and timing set. The fuel system is entirely new from front to back just before I got it.

I wanted to ask your personal recommendations on the following items:

Spark Plugs - AC Delco or ???

Wires - AC Delco or ???

Cap & Rotor AC Delco or ???

Thermostat - a premium one, but what temp? OEM 195 or cooler? And should I do any drilling or any mods if it is a Never-Fail type?