1. Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online
    Online since 2004, we are the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV forum and user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free
    Registering is Free and Easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

My annoying 2010 Suburban rear end clunk

Discussion in 'Chevy Suburban Forum (GMC Yukon XL)' started by mukmuk, Mar 18, 2014.

1. mukmuk

mukmuk New Member

hey gang... newbie here... been lurking for a while and searching for answers to a noise that is about to drive me crazy... bought a 2010 Sub used with approx 32,000 about 2 years ago. we have just over 100k now... about a year later we started to hear a quiet clunk coming from the back end somewhere... i looked to see if it might be the spare tire loose, no. shocks seem tight... nothing obvious... muffler was all attached...

did some looking through the forums and i see a lot about the infamous "clunk" when taking off, but this is not it... (i also have a 1999 Silverado, so I have experienced this 1st hand) it does this just driving quietly through a parking lot when you hit a bump and something clunks, not accelerating... it doesn't seem to do it at higher speeds only because i think we can't hear it with road noise (and kid noise). we live on a gravel road so i'm sure whatever it is has something to do with that...

but even not accelerating, would the slip yoke make a clunk sound when hitting a bump?

Recently the FRONT end started having clunking noise... but again, not bad but just enough that you would say it doesn't sound right... time for Chevy to look at it?