1. Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online
    Online since 2004, we are the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV forum and user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free
    Registering is Free and Easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Need help choosing appropriately-sized battery isolator and batteries

Discussion in 'GM Electrical Tech' started by SurrealOne, Sep 1, 2011.

1. SurrealOne

SurrealOne Former Member ROTM Winner 1000 Posts

Context:

I am not an electrician but am comfortable doing most work so long as a manual and the Internet are handy, as I research heavily and go slowly/methodically when learning something new. As prep for upcoming stereo, light, and winch installations in my 04 Sierra I'm queuing up the following work:
    • Upgrading my 105amp alternator to a 240amp (dcpowerinc) alternator
    • Changing my serpentine belt to that which is used with the 145amp alternator (this is what dcpowerinc recommends)
    • Replacing my starter battery with a Sears DieHard Platinum P-4 [Size Group 34/78] - this is a rebranded Odyssey battery!
    • Adding an auxiliary battery (another Sears DieHard Platinum P-4) in the usual location
    • Adding a battery isolator so that accessories using the auxiliary battery stand no chance of discharging my starter battery
    • Wiring batteries, alternator, and isolator using 2GA wire (and yes, I'll solder) for positive and ground connections (effectively a 'Big 3' upgrade); 150 amp in-line fuses will be used where appropriate
    • Adding a fuse block off the auxiliary battery to allow for easy future connections (stereo and lights; winch will term on the battery posts) to it
    I have three questions: