GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER

New rear shocks need suggestions

Discussion in 'Chevy C/K Truck Forum' started by croach1776, Oct 24, 2011.

1. croach1776

croach1776 New Member

I have a 96 silverado with 5.7. It has a 4" fabtech lift in front with fabtech front shocks. I dont know brand of rear shocks but they are
    air shocks that dont hold air from PO. I would like to install rear shocks that will help level Ole 96 or even raise the rear a little higher than the front. I have 15X8 rims with 33X10.5 all around. Would appreciate any suggestions on rear shocks. I want to stay away from air assisted ones. I have no experience with them but like to keep it simple. Thanks
  2. Royhunterkid

Royhunterkid New Member

your nit going to gain any lift with your shocks but u should look into rancho gas shocks
  3. croach1776

croach1776 New Member

The PO put air shocks on the rear which no longer hold air, so do you still think that a new pair of shocks wont supply any lift to the rear. Thanks for your suggestion, any particular model of the rancho gas.
  4. Royhunterkid

Royhunterkid New Member

The most cost effective would be rs5000 but some awsome shocks they make are the rs 9000 which are ajustable but they are pricey. my buddy has them on the front of his jeep and they are awsome. the only shocks i have seen make any lift are coil over which are like 500 a peice and for the front. The air shocks you have, by putting more air in them would cause the rear suspension to be stiffer. And the easiest way to bring the rear up yo where you want it would be to block the rear.
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2011
  5. croach1776

croach1776 New Member