1. Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online
    Online since 2004, we are the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV forum and user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free
    Registering is Free and Easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Newbie here, need help with 87 burban loss of power high fuel consumption

Discussion in 'GM Powertrain' started by slimyguts, Oct 17, 2010.

1. slimyguts

slimyguts New Member

So here it is:
    1987 Suburban 1/2 ton 4wd 350 auto
    At about 355,000 miles on the engine (and about 530,000 on the truck) I finally blew the head gaskets. Removed, repaired and reassembled top end. Fired on the first try. NEVER had timing marks on the engine, always set by ear. INstalled timing marks and set to 0 as spec states. Engine runs soother than ever at idle. Sounds great. But has HUGE hesitation / surge at midrange rpm. smooths out at higher rpm but never quite feels like rpms reaching their potential. Got engine light and had a code for O2 sensor. Figured that was because all the coolant down the pipes so I replaced it. Now I get a code for Lean Exhaust and burns TONS of fuel. was getting about 16 - 18 when the gaskets blew. Now getting about maybe 8.
    Love workin on cars but dont like all the electronics. Not stupid, have built cars that run in the 10's on the dragstrip without juice but cant get my own truck to run right. Tired of this and need some help.

Thanks,
    Slimyguts