Newest Gallery Photos

1. Chevy Truck Forum

Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online

Online since 2004, we're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free

Registering is Free and Easy! Do it today and we'll see you on the forums soon!

NITROUS OXIDE -primer on Why-How it BOOSTS performance

Discussion in 'Performance & Fuel' started by phoebeisis, Jun 15, 2013.

1. phoebeisis

phoebeisis Epic Member 5+ Years 1000 Posts

I'm not an expert in actual N20- nitrous oxide injection-systems -which is best best bang for buck-etc
    But I am familiar with the How/Why it works
    And it works GREAT-bang for ## performance-kits as little as $600 last i checked

chemistry-quick HS chemistry review
    N20 is a compound-meaning it is composed of at least 2 different elements- Nitrogen and Oxygen
    N20 is also a Molecule -meaning when N and O combine-they actually SHARE their outer electrons
    electrons are tiny tiny-charged particles-when they move-you get electricity-Lotta power energy tied up in electrons moving arranging-all chemical electrical magnetic energy in fact.

So N20
    has 2 NITROGEN atoms combined with 1 Oxygen atom

How does it make power?
    SIMPLE- under higher temperatures easily reached in combustion chambers- it BREAKS APART and releases a VERY REACTIVE OXYGEN ATOM
    Simply inject it into the combustion chamber- WITH EXTRA FUEL!!! and it is like Pumping in more air- BUT BETTER
    No expensive turbo needed-clogging up intake and exhaust ALL THE TIME
    No expensive belt supercharger wasting energy plugging intake all the time

So it is like a SUPERCHARGER-it adds more Oxygen-so you can BURN more fuel-make more power!!

Upside