1. Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online
    Online since 2004, we are the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV forum and user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free
    Registering is Free and Easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Performance Air Intake Advise:

Discussion in 'Performance & Fuel' started by aka510, Dec 2, 2012.

1. aka510

aka510 New Member

I'm thinking about changing the intake system on my Silverado. I'm new to the truck world and would love to be able to improve my MPGs. Currently I'm getting at best about 16 on the highway and no better than 14 with mixed highway and city. I have a 2005 Silverado EXT 1500 Z71 with a 5.3 and a 4.10 rear end. I have a tonno cover on order hoping that will not only secure my bed from people with prying eyes and loose morals but also help improve mileage on the highway. Is there more I can do to improve my MPG? I would love to add a Performance Air Intake system but I do not know how to choose these. I can get the GM one (part number 17801346) for about $370. But if there's a better one out there for around the same price then I would be open to that. Is the K&N 77 better? How about Volant? What kind of experience have you had with these or different ones? Are they worth the price? Do they improve MPG enough to make them worth it? If I can't get at least 2 extra miles per gallon then I'm not sure it would be worth it.

Thanks for any advise you can offer me.

--Will
  2. sierra11

sierra11 Rockstar 100 Posts