Perhaps a dead horse?

Discussion in 'Chevy Suburban Forum (GMC Yukon XL)' started by gnel, May 16, 2009.

1. gnel

gnel New Member

Hello all. I'm new to this fine site and I hope this question has'nt been asked to many times? I'm looking to buy a 2002 to 2005 sub and was wondering what the real world MPGs are on a 6.0 with a 3.73 rear end. Any answers will be greatly appreciated. Thanks g

2. unplugged

unplugged Epic Member 5+ Years 1000 Posts

Not a good vehicle to consider if you are worried about mileage. Smaller SUV's or a mini-van would be a better choice. I bought my burb for occasional towing, trips to Lowe's, swap meets, and regular people hauling. When I first bought it, I calculated mpg's in the range of 10-12 and then forgot about it. It isn't a commuter friendly vehicle unless car pooling with a full load.

Consider what you want to use the burb for and if the utility meets your need, then damn the mpg's. Full speed ahead!

3. 1_low_rider

1_low_rider Rockstar 100 Posts

couldn't have said it better myself, with a truck you'll be looking at 20-23mpg easily.

4. vncj96

vncj96 Epic Member 5+ Years 1000 Posts

I dont believe the sub ever had the 6.0, they either had a 5.3 (1500)or 8.1 (2500)and that was it, the yukon XL however had the 6.0 but only in the denali version. If a Chevy Suburban did I have NEVER seen one for sale with a 6.0 in my area. My uncle is very happy however with the 6.0 in all of his work trucks and gets around 15 hauling/towing in extended cab long box 4x4

Last edited: May 16, 2009
  5. gnel

gnel New Member