1. Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online
    Online since 2004, we are the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV forum and user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free
    Registering is Free and Easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Perhaps a dead horse?

Discussion in 'Chevy Suburban Forum (GMC Yukon XL)' started by gnel, May 16, 2009.

1. gnel

gnel New Member

Hello all. I'm new to this fine site and I hope this question has'nt been asked to many times? I'm looking to buy a 2002 to 2005 sub and was wondering what the real world MPGs are on a 6.0 with a 3.73 rear end. Any answers will be greatly appreciated. Thanks g
  2. unplugged

unplugged New Member 1000 Posts

Not a good vehicle to consider if you are worried about mileage. Smaller SUV's or a mini-van would be a better choice. I bought my burb for occasional towing, trips to Lowe's, swap meets, and regular people hauling. When I first bought it, I calculated mpg's in the range of 10-12 and then forgot about it. It isn't a commuter friendly vehicle unless car pooling with a full load.

Consider what you want to use the burb for and if the utility meets your need, then damn the mpg's. Full speed ahead!
  3. 1_low_rider

1_low_rider New Member

couldn't have said it better myself, with a truck you'll be looking at 20-23mpg easily.
  4. vncj96

vncj96 New Member 1000 Posts

I dont believe the sub ever had the 6.0, they either had a 5.3 (1500)or 8.1 (2500)and that was it, the yukon XL however had the 6.0 but only in the denali version. If a Chevy Suburban did I have NEVER seen one for sale with a 6.0 in my area. My uncle is very happy however with the 6.0 in all of his work trucks and gets around 15 hauling/towing in extended cab long box 4x4
    Last edited: May 16, 2009
  5. gnel

gnel New Member