Power/speed. 5.3 chevy help please

Discussion in 'Chevy Silverado Forum (GMC Sierra)' started by Tylert003, Apr 6, 2014.

1. Tylert003

Tylert003 New Member

Ok, so I'm kinda new to trucks that have any kind of power, considering my last truck was a 92 toyota pickup. Now I have a 2005 z71 4 door. Well, I race motocross, and I drag race atvs and dirt bikes in sand dunes. On both of my race bikes I've got a turbo set up, bbk, programmers, all kind of stuff. I can do almost anything to an atv or dirt bike. But I'm stupid when it comes to trucks. First off, how in the world do I fix this shutting off at 100 mess? I know people that have them so they don't shut off, I have a superchip/programmer if that helps any. Also, I tend to go to the drag strip to watch every once in a while and would love to put my 5.3 up against some of the trucks out there. Any help on turbo, super charger, or anything to add some power, remember, I'm a small engines guy, so put it in stupid terms. Price isn't a problem. Just sold my sxs and have some money to fool with

2. RayVoy

RayVoy Well-Known Member 2 Years 1000 Posts

You can do just about anything you want to the 5.3

Spend some time roaming around on the web hundreds and hundreds of items out there.

3. ahmitchell1

ahmitchell1 Rockstar 4 Years ROTM Winner 1000 Posts

If it were me depending on how many miles you got on your motor. I'd do a full rebuild bore it out with a solid cam and all the other internal goodies. you should be ****tin and gettin then

4. Tylert003

Tylert003 New Member