1. Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online
    Online since 2004, we are the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV forum and user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free
    Registering is Free and Easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Problem with Truck starting

Discussion in 'General Chevy & GM Tech Questions' started by ffaboy1, Sep 29, 2010.

1. ffaboy1

ffaboy1 New Member

I'm no mechanic...this will become real evident soon once I begin to type this out. Here's my issue...I have a 2000 Chevy Silverado and for the past couple of months I have been having difficulties getting it started. In the morning it usually starts right up once I turn the ignition. After it has been run for awhile and I turn it off and then try to start it again it can sometimes take me two or three times turning the key before it cranks. When I turn the key it sounds like it is trying to start but doesn't fully. The thrid time is usually it though and it starts right up. I've had several suggestions on what may be causing this but let me know what you all think and if you have any suggestions on how it may be fixed. Thanks.
  2. silveradotrailblazer

silveradotrailblazer New Member ROTM Winner 1000 Posts

What size motor? When was the last time you did what I call a full service, change spark plugs, clean throttle body and idle air control (IAC) change the fuel filter, plug wires ,cap and rotor if you have a 5.7
  3. ntbush83

ntbush83 New Member ROTM Winner 1000 Posts

x2 on the full service. On my 5.7 I replaced my cap and rotor and plugs and that was the ticket right there.
  4. ffaboy1

ffaboy1 New Member

more on the truck

the truck is a v-8 5.3 Fuel Injected with automatic transmition
  5. ridick_bowen

ridick_bowen New Member