Programmer Chip Important Question

Discussion in 'Performance & Fuel' started by bobbyg35, Oct 14, 2009.

1. bobbyg35

bobbyg35 New Member

Hi guys, I am new to the GMTruckClub forum so this question may have been asked before, but I couldn't find it by doing a search, so I am just going to ask again.

I have a 2002 Chevy Silverado 4x4 5.3L V8 with a 6" RCD Lift and 35" BFG Mud Terrain tires. Its a beast off road, but what I need is something to give me a few more mpg. I drive back and forth to work 5 days a week in it and it's starting to pay a toll on my bank account.

I am willing to spend around $500 to buy a programmer chip that will increase my fuel economy as well as give me that extra horse power.

Please link me to a website that sells the product you are advising on (if you can) otherwise just give me the make and model of the product and a rough estimate of what it cost.

Thanks a lot guys, and if your in Oregon checkout my website www.oregonquading.com

Last edited: Oct 14, 2009
  2. ejohnson03

ejohnson03 Epic Member 5+ Years 1000 Posts

3. dsfloyd

dsfloyd Epic Member 5+ Years ROTM Winner Gold Member 1000 Posts

http://www.wait4meperformance.com/

there was a review done on here with one a little bit back. they custom tune three tunes and put it on a handheld and the price is not that expensive.

Its an SCT handheld and Heavy Chevy has one

Last edited: Oct 15, 2009
  4. bobbyg35

bobbyg35 New Member

Ok, well I got my Hypertech programmer in the mail today with overnighted shipping. I paid $329.00 total with the free overnight shipping included from AnythingAuto, that is a great website with great phone support.

Well to my review now...

I plugged it in to start the programming, immediately it said I need to update my programmer via the internet to get the latest data. So I took it upstairs and with a few plugs into a usb cable and a few clicks of the mouse, I was updated to the latest data specific to my truck.