1. Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online
    Online since 2004, we are the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV forum and user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free
    Registering is Free and Easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

questions on straight pipe

Discussion in 'Performance & Fuel' started by RowdyZ71, Dec 9, 2010.

1. RowdyZ71

RowdyZ71 New Member

hey fellas, i was just wonderin if anybody out there was running or have seen anyone else runnin straight pipe dumped under the bed of the pickup. right now i have a Flowmaster Original 40 Series, single in/single out and it just aint quite loud enough fer me but i dont have the extra cash to re-do the whoe exaust system. so i was thinkin bout just choppin off the flowmaster and dumpin it right there, i just dont know if this would cause any complications. i have a 2010 1500 Z71 ext cab standard bed. whats yalls thoughts on this? thanks in advance
  2. murdog94

murdog94 New Member 1000 Posts 100 Posts

Im not to up to speed on the new 5.3L but my 02 Z71 with the 5.3L didnt have any issues and was loud but sounded good.. But the new ones may need more back pressure.. im not to sure.
  3. KWG08VMI

KWG08VMI New Member 100 Posts

My buddy had true dual straight pipes on an '08 and didn't have any issues. So I think you would be fine.
  4. ajarman

ajarman New Member 1000 Posts 100 Posts

What's up Rowdy! I grew up not too far from Pitt County. Does your truck have the DOD? I just wondering about running a turn down with no muffler and going into 4cyl how that would sound.
  5. RowdyZ71

RowdyZ71 New Member